Manslaughter is the killing of a person without premeditated thoughts. These premeditated thoughts are considered malice aforethought.
There are two levels of manslaughter in Oklahoma: voluntary manslaughter and involuntary manslaughter.
- Voluntary Manslaughter
- Killing in heat of passion or while committing a felony
- Involuntary Manslaughter
- When the death of someone is caused while breaking a non-felony law
- Vehicular Manslaughter
- Negligently driving a vehicle and directly causing the death of another human being
Penalties for Manslaughter in Oklahoma
- First Degree
- May include a prison term of at least four years
- Second Degree
- A prison term of between one and four years, and a fine of $1,000
- May include a fine of $500 to $1,000, two to three years in jail, and one to two years of probation
Contact an Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorney
The penalties resulting from a manslaughter conviction in Oklahoma are severe and can significantly alter the rest of your life.
If you are facing manslaughter charges in Oklahoma, contact us today. We can enure that your legal rights are protected throughout the duration of your case.
Call us toll-free 1-888-GARRETT (1-888-427-7388) or fill out our contact form for a free legal consultation.